On Birds, Fifth Graders and ‘We Will Rock You’

Posted on May 8, 2016

0


Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 4.48.23 PMSo I’m sitting here looking out the window and thinking to myself that I must be getting old because I’m totally in love with the concept of #birds. I mean, how awesome is it that there are these little creatures that flit around chirping and trilling and they come in all shapes and sizes and cool colors and they’re like these magical little beasts and totally amazing. And that makes me think of this nature camp I went to when I was like 9 and we learned about trees and birds and rocks and Mr. Lebeau was the #birdguy and Mr. Lingner was the #rockguy, except we were 9 and everyone thought #rocks were the bomb and birds were stupid, to the point where all of us kids one day started chanting ‘BOO, MR. LEBEAU, YAY, MR. LINGNER, BOO, MR. LEBEAU…’ and Mr. Lebeau looked totally bummed that we were acting like little Manson Family disciples at the altar of Mr. Lingner the Crowned King of #rock #awesomeness <‘look kids, shale!’> and how unfair was that? because Mr. Lebeau was totally as cool as Mr. Lingner but we were just too young to appreciate it. And then that jolts my brain back to fifth grade, and the time that Mr. Wallace left the room and Pat Nelson, completely and totally awesomely out of nowhere, started banging on his desk and doing an a cappella version of a Queen tune and so Mr. Wallace came back after 3 minutes to find a room full of 11 year olds banging on their desks <*boom *boom *WHAP> and chanting WE WILL WE WILL ROCK YOU!!! It’s funny, the things that pop into your head on a Friday afternoon when you let your mind wander…

Tagged: , , ,
Posted in: Marginalia